Top 5

Flipping through an Ethiopia guidebook, you’re likely to see Lalibela, Harar, the Simiens, Timket, and Gondar in the top 5 attractions.

But these are spread across the country, making them difficult to see in one visit. I have had the pleasure and privilege of having friends and family visit me in Ethiopia. I have taken all of them to my town, Addis Kidam. Below are my top 5 attractions in and around Addis Kidam.

  1. Lake Tana – though it is in Bahir Dar, not Addis Kidam, most people who visit come through Bahir Dar. Lake Tana is the largest lake in Ethiopia. If you’re out at the right time, you may be lucky enough to see the crepuscular hippos or the fishermen in their papyrus boats. It also provides the home for a ridiculous number of bird species.

2) My house – The small, two-room, mud-walled place I’ve made into my home. I’ve tried to offset the alarming blue of the walls, ceiling, and glass of the door with photos, quotes, cards, and art. It is surprisingly comfortable, as long as there aren’t more than two people in there at a time.

3) The food – any visitor who comes on a Wednesday or Friday, or during any of the numerous other s’om (fasting – vegan diet) times of the year will be treated to a bayayanet (pictured right), which translates to “many kinds”. It has a legume based “wat” or stew in the middle with different types of vegetables and stews all around. Most of these stews are made of lentils or peas. Another staple of my Ethiopian diet is shiro (pictured left) or tagabino, a stew made of ground peas, onions, garlic, oil, and the every present berbere spice mix, supplemented with vegetables I make at home in the morning. All dishes are served on injera, a fermented, spongy, crepe-like flat bread that serves as the utensil. It is made of teff, a tiny, gluten-free, protein-rich grain.

4) Adgwame, a.k.a. The Hill – a hill on the southern end of town that provides some rare solitude, views of the surrounding farmland, a place to set up a hammock, and a great spread of November wild flowers.

5) Zengena Crater Lake – located about 30 minutes south of Addis Kidam, Zengena is a great place to spend a day, walking around the lake, looking for monkeys, relaxing in a hammock. It is also, as I’ve recently discovered, a great place to camp for the night.

 

Leave a comment