A Successful Summit

Today, just before finishing my Peace Corps service, I summited a mountain I’ve been looking at since I took my first bus ride down the road, just days after arriving in Ethiopia. I tried to hike it once, at the beginning of my service, 20 months ago, but was attacked by children throwing rocks at two of my fellow volunteers and me. We retreated with our backpacks over our heads. Then, three months after that, I was set to hike this mountain again, this time accompanied by a local guide to protect the group from rock wielding children. That time my face was stung by approximately 40 bees a few days before and when I woke up to hike with my eyes swollen shut, I decided I’d be better off boarding a bus to the hospital than to the base of a mountain. But today was our day. We did it! And here are the pictures to prove it.

As corny as it is, I can’t help but think of a summer camp song about climbing mountains and progressing through journeys as I think about summiting this mountain I’ve been longing to hike for so long as I come to the close of my journey in Ethiopia. Listen at your own risk – it is a summer camp song written and sung by pre-teen girls.

Leave a comment